Nina up North

I think this was the fastest that two people ever became friends. But maybe that’s because we’re two weirdos who made silly faces at each other during rehearsal despite never haven spoken. What a joy it was for me to be able to capture her giggly self on camera!

 

IMG_6823.jpg

IMG_6807.jpg

IMG_6824.jpg

 

GUYS, NINA IS BRITISH. Of course, I only learned that after speaking with her, but then unfortunately I was unstoppable. I was copying, replying and maybe subconsciously mimicking a little bit, what my new friend was saying. I told her multiple times how sorry I was r, but she reassured me that she didn’t get offended easily and so it was okay that I was being a bit of a brat.

 

IMG_6843.jpg

IMG_6829.jpg

IMG_6857.jpg

 

Oh, I almost forgot – Nina and I sing together! We’re both part of the Lyric Theatre Singers (come to our Christmas show December 1st, 2nd or 3rd? #shamelessadvertising), roughly the same age, and at a very similar point in our lives. We both have loving, supportive boyfriends, who we like to show off, smiley personalities and a passion for song.

 

IMG_6865.jpg

IMG_6866.jpg

IMG_6868.jpg

 

Nina is quite the gal. She’s upbeat throughout a long weekend, up for anything I asked her to do during the shoot (my model direction is improving, people!), and generally up to no good aka giving me half her share of wine so that we both get a bit tipsy instead of one of us getting drunk 😉

 

IMG_6874.jpg

IMG_6878.jpg

IMG_6884.jpg

 

Over the past couple of years, many of the Lyric friends I started with, have left the group due mainly to busy schedules and being called to do other things. It’s a very fluid group, so meeting a lot of different people is part of the experience, but I’m very glad that mine and Nina’s paths happened to cross. After all, I do believe in a Grand Plan and that there’s something to learn and teach in every relationship.

 

IMG_6892.jpg

IMG_6894.jpg

IMG_6902.jpg

 

Nina knows sooo much about health and wellness and I can’t wait to learn more about it all. She’s had to overcome some health issues in the past and has made it her mission to expand her knowledge on what she puts in her body and whether it helps or hinders. I’m learning more about how valuable that knowledge is, and what a useful skill it is to be able to listen to your body.

 

IMG_6905.jpg

IMG_6914.jpg

IMG_6930.jpg

 

After not long, I learned that Nina’s dad lives in Bath – the same place in England that my grandfather was born! I hope to be able to make a trip to the UK in the near-ish future, and Bath is definitely on the list. Nina describes it as a beautiful, peaceful place, and I can’t wait to explore my roots and the countryside.

 

IMG_6943.jpg

IMG_6904.jpg

IMG_6927.jpg

 

Nina is a curious and thoughtful human, and I think that’s one of the things that drew me to want to take her photos. We actually did two short sessions on the same day that we drove 1.5hrs at 7am, sang for roughly 8hrs and stuffed ourselves with all kinds of yummy food. She never once stopped smiling, save for when we were doing the “serious ones”.


This girl has such a warm spirit! I was refreshed after our photo sessions and the weekend in general. Our annual singing retreat usually drains me of all life and leaves me going round and round in Christmas lyric circles. This time, CAMMAC, the members of Lyric and Nina helped revive my passion for singing and taking photos of beautiful people in beautiful locations.

 

Speaking of beautiful locations – isn’t Lake MacDonald simply gorgeous?! It was grey all day with no chance of rain, meaning the sky was a giant softbox, at my service. Also, the grounds of the music getaway were wonderful: aging, painted white wood cabins with green stairs; bright red fences against late fall scenery and a small, sandy, private beach. I was surrounded by inspiring settings for any artist.


 

Not featured in our session, was the fact that I was able to find some quiet time for myself during the busy weekend. Glad I was able to reset, refocus and thank God for beautiful opportunities to sing, laugh and capture precious moments like these.

 

M x

 

 

Leave a comment