All about Maeve

Hi friends! I hope you’ve had a wonderful 9th of December. I thought I’d take the time to do a little intro post about yours truly. Also I took some self-portraits a while back (when the weather was mild enough to wear a skirt and sweater to work!) on my front porch that I quite like and thought they should be put to good use.

 

img_6776

 

My name is Maeve and I turned 23 last Monday! This post was actually supposed to be a birthday post, but I was a little bit too overwhelmed with bday love and work/Lyric so I delayed it a bit. One evening I realized I wanted to start a blog – so I did! And by the end of the next day my first post was up. I was surprised that the feedback I got was so lovely and supportive, but then again, I’ve surrounded myself with people who encourage me to pursue my passions and have fun every day.

 

img_6780

 

I’m so lucky to still be living at home, working two part time jobs that I ultimately enjoy and be surrounded every day by beautiful family and friends (and the occasional doggos and puppers that I look after or visit the office!). I’ve been trying to shift my thinking lately regarding my jobs – that I don’t HAVE to go to them, but that I GET to go to them. I’ve been blessed in an area of my life where so many are still looking and struggling. I have a reason to wake up in the morning (way more than one!) and am so grateful.

 

img_6799

 

My fashion sense has definitely evolved over my life – if I bothered to, I would scan photos of 11 year old  me to show you how far I’ve come, but you’ll just have to reflect on what YOU were wearing in 2004 (Facebook stalking me or my sister also works!)

 

img_6790

 

I have a small, wonderful immediate family. It’s comprised of supportive and loving parents who always, always found time to read to me, take me to a volleyball game or all of us on a family vacation; and a sister who I’ve always been able to look up to- not only because she is older and wiser than me – but because she is hard-working, generous with her time and resources and has let me be the artsy one while she buckled down to do the doctor stuff.

 

img_6800

 

I have the best boyfriend in the world. He’d probably jokingly agree with you if you asked him and then say, “but no, really I am”, also jokingly. He’s the most thoughtful and patient man I know and life these past (almost) two years with him has been better than ever before. Thank you, love!!

 

img_6802

 

But there’s one other relationship that has recently taken precedence over that of any friend or family member. God found me when I was paralyzed with worry about my future, lost spiritually and only thinking surface thoughts about most issues and opinions. I’m still Maeve, but my views on the importance of relationships and community; the lesser value I place in having and achieving things and believing that there is a higher power guiding me through this earthly life have all shifted. I live a fuller life simply knowing that God loves me no matter what and a more thankful life knowing that He gave His only son to die for my sins. We will never deserve it, but it’s still there for us to willingly have. Please don’t hesitate to ask me any questions you have about faith or this incredible journey! I obviously love talking about it 🙂

 

img_6795

 

‘Til next time,

M x

4 thoughts on “All about Maeve

  1. What can I say? This is my “Fave Maeve” post yet ! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you through Lyric for the past couple of years. I keep discovering such depth and creativity in you!! You are a joy. xoxo Gloria

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment